Ann Arbor was founded in 1824 by John Allen and Elisha Walker Rumsey. It’s rumored that the name comes from the men’s wives, both named Ann, and from the expanse of burr oaks in the area. Ann Arbor was incorporated in 1833 after becoming part of Washtenaw County in 1827. Currently, nearly 114,000 people reside in Ann Arbor.

The city operates under a council-manager form of government, in which day-to-day proceedings are managed by the City Administrator. There are 10 elected City Council members, two from each of Ann Arbor’s five wards. Along with the Mayor, each has equal legislative voting power. City Council meetings are held the first and third Mondays of every month in the Council Chambers of Larcom City Hall. Ann Arbor houses the 15th District Court, which serves as the city’s municipal court and is located at 301 E Huron St.

Ann Arbor’s website describes it as “a small, friendly town with big city sophistication.” There are many events and attractions that draw visitors to the city from all across the nation, including outdoor fairs, street festivals and various recreational activities. Ann Arbor is also home to the University of Michigan, the oldest university in the state and widely considered to be one of the leading research universities in the nation.

Ann Arbor is home to the University Musical Society, the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra, The Ark, Performance Network Theatre and the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library. The city also hosts the annual Hash Bash every April. Sister cities include Tubingen (Germany), Remedios (Cuba), Belize City (Belize), Dakar (Senegal), Hikone (Japan), Juigalpa (Nicaragua) and Peterborough (Canada).

The Washtenaw County Trial Courthouse is located at 101 East Huron Street in Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48104.